The Cash App enjoys a wide user base of over 70 million users. One thing that all of them share is their attempts to know how to delete Cash App history. However, the simple answer is that there is no way to delete your Cash App history. The only way out is to delete your Cash App account. This article will delve into more details about why you cannot delete your Cash App history and other possible alternatives to deleting the history.
Why Can You Not Delete Your Cash App History?
The Cash App acts as a financial institution. So you can only see your payment records and account history. If you really want to delete the entire Cash App history, you don’t have any other option but to delete your Cash App account.
The Cash App Terms of Service clearly state that users cannot erase or delete a transaction due to security reasons. But the great thing is that there’s really no need to delete your Cash App history. If you are afraid of data leakage, you can add a PIN to your Cash App account. It will prevent others from viewing your history.
You cannot hide your transaction either. It’s because no one can see them. This is the default setting in the Cash App, which prevents users from seeing the Cash App history of another user. The feature cannot be toggled on or off. Only the Cash App account owner can view the payment and transaction history. Not even their closest relatives can access it at any time.
Turn on the security lock for added protection
As mentioned earlier; you can add a PIN to your Cash App account if you are scared of data leakage. However, you can also enable a security lock to transfer funds for added protection.
· Click on your profile icon.
· Now choose ‘Privacy & Security.’
· Enable the security lock slider by clicking it.
· After that, input your Cash PIN.
· As you fill in your PIN, the security lock will turn on.
· It is a good option for Apple users wanting to prevent another person from transferring money from their account.
Steps to Delete Cash App History by Closing Your Account
By now, you must have realized that you cannot delete the Cash App history. The only method to do so is to close your Cash App account. Before that, you can download your transaction history. In the following section, you will find out how to download the payment history and then close your account to permanently delete the Cash App history.
Download transaction history in the Cash App
Use these steps to view and download a part of your transaction history.
· Using a web browser, log in to your Cash App account.
· If you have enabled the two-factor authentication, enter the needed code.
· After that, input your Cash PIN.
· Now, hit ‘Settings’ on the app.
· Scroll down till you find the ‘Your Info’ header.
· Choose the ‘Download the info’ option.
· Choose the ‘Activity’ tab to view the payment or transaction history.
· Choose ‘Statements’ present at the top-right part of the app screen.
· If you want to download transaction history for a specific month, narrow down the selection.
· Choose ‘Export CSV’ to export this history.
Delete your Cash App account.
Next, you need to close your account to permanently delete the transaction history. Here is how to delete Cash App history by closing the account.
· Hit the ‘Profile’ symbol present at the top-right part of the Cash App.
· After that, tap ‘Support.
· It is in the menu list.
· Choose ‘Something else’ from the options in the menu.
· After that, pick the ‘Account Settings’ option.
· Next, choose ‘Close Your Cash App Account.’
· You can now choose a specific method to close your Cash App account.
· It can be to either delete the account or delete the activity.
· Cash App will let you remove your transaction history for a particular period.
· The period for which you want to delete the history is your choice.
· You can delete history for up to three months or nine days.
· Lastly, tap ‘Confirm.’
How to Delete Someone from Cash App History?
You cannot delete a person from the Cash App history because it is only available to you. But you can certainly remove a person from your Cash App. Once you remove them, they cannot access any of your Cash App transactions.
· On the home screen of your Cash App, click the ‘Profile’ icon.
· Now choose ‘Remove from friends.’
· Click ‘Remove’ again to confirm your actions.
· This person is now removed from your friend list. You cannot perform any transactions with them.
You can also remove a family member from your Cash App.
· On the home screen of the app, click the Profile icon.
· Choose the ‘Family and Friends’ option.
· Locate the person you wish to remove and click on their name.
· Go down and click ‘Remove (person name).’
Hopefully, by now, you must have found a suitable answer to your question about how to delete cash app history on android. You also know the security measures to protect your account and how to remove another person from accessing your account. If you need more assistance in any of these procedures, consult a Cash App expert.